call for entry: Portraits @ Alberta Craft Council

Submission Deadline: December 3, 2018

A portrait is a visual representation that shows the likeness of a person or self in physicality, personality, or even mood. In this open call exhibition, the Alberta Craft Council welcomes entries from all craft media. We encourage artists to interpret the portrait in its widest sense and share the story of its subject.

The exhibition will be launched in the Alberta Craft Feature Gallery in Edmonton in January 2019  and travel to the Alberta Craft Gallery Calgary June 8 – August 10, 2019.

Must be Canadian to enter.

Submission Content:

–  3 – 5 high quality digital images, measuring at least 1000 pixels in width or height of work to be presented in the exhibition.

– image list: title, year created, dimensions, materials and techniques

– current CV with contact information

– artist biography

Email proposal to: submissions@albertacraft.ab.ca

Questions? Please contact Joanne Hamel, Exhibition Lead

Email: joanne@albertacraft.ab.ca

Phone: 780-488-6611 ext. 234

residency opportunity: A.I.R Vallauris

Our schedule for 2019 is now available and we are currently accepting applications for both the Standard and the Atelier Tremplin residencies.

Standard Residency
For the past 17 years A.I.R. Vallauris welcomes international artists from all horizons to meet and collaborate with local artists and to research, create and exhibit new work in an unique environment.

  • Session I : Tuesday, 19 February 2019 to Friday, 22 March 2019
  • Session II: Tuesday, 9 April 2019 to Friday, 10 May 2019
  • Session III: Tuesday, 21 May 2019 to Friday, 21 June 2019
  • Session IV: Tuesday, 2 July 2019 to Friday, 2 August 2019
  • Session V: Tuesday, 3 September 2019 to Friday, 4 October 2019
  • Session VI: Tuesday, 29 October 2019 to Friday, 29 November 2019
Atelier Tremplin
The “Atelier Tremplin” is specifically formulated for recent graduates of art and ceramic schools; under graduates or graduate curriculum. The goal of the Atelier Tremplin is to provide a staircase for new graduates that will assist them in making their advancement into increasingly skilled and competent practice. Provision of housing, study space, opportunity for community engagement and for public exhibitions of the culmination of individual creative skills are essential components of the programme.

  • Winter session: Monday, February 18, 2019 to Friday, May 10, 2019
  • Spring/Summer session: Monday, May 13, 2019 to Friday, August 2, 2019
  • Fall Session: Monday, September 9, 2019 to Friday, November 29, 2019
We accept applications throughout the year. Upcoming application submission deadlines include: 31 October, 2019 and 30 November 2018. As we give priority according to application dates, we encourage you to submit your application as soon as possible.

To request more information please email us at: contact@air-vallauris.com

technical tuesday: Slip Displacement

Loved this simple but super helpful trick that master plaster mold maker and bone china queen Noriko Masuda posted on her Instagram feed yesturday. She ran out of casting slip part way through the cast so added the mug to displace the liquid. Seems so obvious but in my years slip casting I didn’t think of it!

Check out more of her work here.